Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

How to Get the Most Out of a Studio Apartment


Author's Note

I've never lived in a studio apartment, and doubt I ever will at this point in my life. However, the ideas I learned in researching this article will certainly be helpful when moving my three kids into their college dorm and apartments this fall. And I suppose I should keep them in the back of my mind for the day my hubby and I downsize our home, which may be sooner than we realize!

Related Articles

Sources

  • Apartment Therapy. "5 Smart Studio Apartment Layouts." (July 23, 2012) http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/5-smart-studio-apartment-layou-92329
  • Apartment Therapy. "The Pros of Living in a Studio Apartment." (July 23, 2012) http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/the-pros-of-living-in-a-studio-68187
  • Apartment Therapy. "Tips For Making A Small Apartment Feel Bigger." (July 23, 2012) http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/tips-for-making-a-small-apartm-108405
  • Bramble, Laura. "Difference Between an Efficiency & Studio Apartment." (July 23, 2012) http://homeguides.sfgate.com/difference-between-efficiency-studio-apartment-8247.html
  • Freshome Design & Architecture. "5 Tips for Fooling the Eye and Making a Room Look Bigger." (July 23, 2012) http://freshome.com/2007/05/29/5-tips-for-fooling-the-eye-and-making-a-room-look-bigger/
  • Griswold, Kent. "Ten Tips For Decorating a Small Studio Apartment." Tiny House Blog. June 20, 2008. (July 23, 2012) http://tinyhouseblog.com/tiny-house/ten-tips-for-decorating-a-small-studio-apartment/
  • Home Lighting Advice. "Create the Best Lighting for a Studio Apartment." (July 23, 2012) http://www.homelightingadvice.com/room/misc-rooms/create-the-best-lighting-for-a-studio-apartment
  • House Beautiful. "11 Essential Organizing Tips for Small Spaces." (July 24, 2012) http://www.housebeautiful.com/decorating/organizing-small-homes-0710#slide-1
  • Kitts, Kayla. "Studio Apartment Makeovers." HGTV. (July 23, 2012) http://www.hgtv.com/decorating-basics/studio-apartment-makeovers/pictures/index.html
  • Lurie, Kathryn. "How To Make More Space In Your Apartment." Marie Claire. July 17, 2008. (July 24, 2012) http://www.marieclaire.com/celebrity-lifestyle/articles/make-more-space-in-your-apartment
  • McKinley, Jesse. "Must Haves for the Micro-Pad." The New York Times. July 11, 2012. (July 23, 2012) http://www.nytimes.com/2012/07/12/garden/furnishing-a-tiny-apartment.html?_r=2
  • National Association of Home Builders. "The New Home in 2015." (July 25, 2012) http://www.nahb.org/generic.aspx?sectionID=734&genericContentID=153664&channelID=311
  • Newburg, Maddison. "How to Decorate a Studio Apartment." March 12, 2010. (July 23, 2012) http://www.mademan.com/mm/how-decorate-studio-apartment.html
  • Stylist Home. "D├ęcor Ideas: A Small Space Makeover That'll Definitely Surprise You." May 29, 2012. (July 23, 2012) http://www.stylelist.com/2012/05/24/decor-ideas-small-space-makeover_n_1540568.html
  • Teagarden, Rebecca. "Tiny apartment shows the value of a good fit." The Seattle Times. (July 23, 2012) http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/pacificnw/2012595209_pacificpnwl22.html

More to Explore