How does a water softener work?


Lots More Information

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • APS Water. "How Select the Best Water Softener." (June 15, 2011)http://www.apswater.com/how_to_select_a_water_softener.asp
  • Business Dictionary. "Grains per Gallon." (June 27, 2011)http://www.businessdictionary.com/definition/grains-per-gallon-GPG.html
  • Cole, Lucius. "Water Softening -- Effectiveness at What Hardness Level." Water Quality Association. (June 27, 2011)http://www.flawatertreatment.com/pdfs/Water_Softeners_Effextive_at_What_Level_of_Hardness.pdf
  • Consumer Reports. "Hard Facts about Hard Water." August 2010. (June 14, 2011)http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/magazine-archive/2010/august/appliances/dishwasher/hard-facts-about-hard-water/index.htm
  • ISSA. "ISSA State Phosphate Survey." 2008. (June 17, 2011)http://www.issa.com/data/File/regulatory/phosphate%20surveyAug%202008%20%282%29.pdf
  • Klenck, Thomas. "How It Works: Water Softener." Popular Mechanics. Aug. 1, 1998. (June 15, 2011)http://www.popularmechanics.com/home/improvement/interior/1275126
  • Lenntech. "Water Softener Frequently Asked Questions." (June 13, 2011)http://www.lenntech.com/processes/softening/faq/water-softener-faq.htm
  • Powell, Mike R. "Magnetic Water and Fuel Treatment: Myth, Magic, or Mainstream Science?"
  • Sheps, Sheldon G. "Water Softeners: How Much Sodium Do They Add?" Mayo Clinic. (June 27, 2011)http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/sodium/AN00317
  • Skeptical Inquirer. Vol. 22, no. 1. January - February 1998. (June 13, 2011)http://www.csicop.org/si/show/magnetic_water_and_fuel_treatment_myth_magic_or_mainstream_science/
  • Southern Water (UK). "Fact Sheet: Water Softeners." (July 14, 2011)http://www.southernwater.co.uk/pdf/Environment/drinkWaterQuality/SoftenersWRCnote.pdf
  • U.S. Food and Drug Administration. "9. Appendix A: Definitions of Nutrient Content Claims." Food Labeling Guide. October 2009. (June 27, 2011).http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformation/GuidanceDocuments/FoodLabelingNutrition/FoodLabelingGuide/ucm064911.htm
  • Wight, Chuck. "How Do Water Softeners Work?" Scientific American. Sept. 24, 2001. (June 16, 2011)http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=how-do-water-softeners-wo
  • Wisconsin Bureau of Wastewater Management. "Water Softeners and the Environment." Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources. (June 15, 2011)http://www.clearwaterpoolsystems.com/Pdf/GoingGreen/WaterSoftenersandtheEnvironment.pdf

More to Explore