5 Reasons to Look Inside an Oven Before You Buy It


1
The Self-cleaning Features

Yes, self-cleaning ovens have been around for a while, but they're pretty neat and deserve a second look. You probably already know that the standard self-cleaning cycle uses very high heat, often over 900 degrees Fahrenheit, to turn oven grime into easy-to-clean ash. What you might not know is that self-cleaning ovens usually have better insulation than conventional ovens. The insulation is designed to handle the higher temps necessary for superheated cleaning, but an added advantage is that it helps your oven cook more efficiently the rest of the time, too.

The energy savings may end up being a trade off if you use the self-cleaning option a lot, but if you get into the habit of using pot lids (and believe in the liberal use of aluminum foil), you'll have access to self-cleaning technology when you need it -- and net yourself a better built oven.

Another choice you might want to consider is a continuous cleaning oven. It has a rough textured, specially treated interior surface. Regular baking temperatures act with an onboard catalyst to oxidize gunk trapped in tiny depressions on the oven's walls. It's a great idea that works pretty well with small spills but may not be as effective on tough ones containing burned-on, sugary goo. If you pamper your oven, though, and usually avoid diabolical spills that need special handling, this feature will keep your oven cleaner without the long downtimes associated with self-cleaning ovens (about 3 to 5 hours).

Related Articles

Sources

  • CNET. "Stove and Range Buying Guide." 12/9/09. (1/23/12). http://reviews.cnet.com/2719-17895_7-408-5.html?tag=
  • Consumer Guide Products. "Oven Buying Guide." (1/23/12). https://products.howstuffworks.com/ovens-buying-guide.htm
  • Consumer Reports. "Kitchen Range Buying Guide." (1/23/12). http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/appliances/kitchen-appliances/kitchen-ranges/kitchen-range-buying-advice/index.htm
  • Cooking Manager. "What Features Do You Need in Your New Oven?" 4/22/11. (1/23/12). http://www.cookingmanager.com/features-oven/?wpmp_tp=1
  • Eco-Coach. "Tips for Buying a New Oven." 12/7/07. (1/23/12). http://ecocoach.wordpress.com/2007/12/07/tips-for-buying-a-new-oven/
  • EPA - Energy Star. "Microwaves, Ovens, and Ranges." (1/23/12). http://www.energystar.gov/index.cfm?c=products.pr_mw_ovens_ranges
  • Good Housekeeping. "Cooking Range Reviews." (1/23/12). http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/product-reviews/appliances/cooking-range-reviews#slide-1
  • Lowe's. "New Oven Range and Cooktop Features Make Life Easier." (1/23/12). http://www.lowes.com/cd_Innovative+Oven+Range+Features+Make+Life+Easier_1280350286_
  • Michigan State University Extension. "Continuous-Clean Oven Cleaning." 6/24/03. (1/23/12). http://www.msue.msu.edu/objects/content_revision/download.cfm/revision_id.493834/workspace_id.-4/01500239.html/
  • My Home Ideas. "Time for a New Oven?" (1/23/12). http://www.myhomeideas.com/specials/kitchens/time-a-new-oven-10000001868277/
  • Oven Cleaning Guide. "How to clean a self-cleaning oven?" (1/23/12). http://www.oven-cleaning-guide.com/self-cleaning-oven.html
  • Oven U. Self Cleaning Ovens." (1/23/12). http://www.ovenu.co.uk/self-cleaning-ovens
  • U.S. Department of Energy. "Home Energy Saver - Cooking Appliances." (1/23/12). http://hes.lbl.gov/consumer/help-popup/content/~consumer~nrr~cooking
  • Which Works for You. "Built-in ovens: How to buy built-in ovens." (1/23/12). http://www.which.co.uk/home-and-garden/kitchen/guides/how-to-buy-built-in-ovens/

UP NEXT

Dishwashers Need Cleaning Too!

Dishwashers Need Cleaning Too!

HowStuffWorks looks at the steps involved in cleaning your dishwasher, like wiping it down and removing the filter.


More to Explore