5 Dorm Room Accessories You Really Do Need

Lots More Information


How often should you dust your dorm room?

How often should you dust your dorm room?

If you're not dusting regularly, you're letting all kinds of gross things drift around your living space. Get tips on keeping your dorm dust-free.

Author's Note: 5 Dorm Room Accessories You Really Do Need

Last year, all three of my kids were in college, so I had a pretty good idea of what the top 10 or 15 dorm room accessories would be. But it was interesting to discover the truly critical items -- and to realize how much things have changed since I was in college. Who else remembers how cool the long-gone hot pots were? And I'd rather eat popcorn made in a hot-air popcorn maker than a microwave any day!

Related Articles


  • Beginner's Guide. "Dorm Room Essentials." (June 19, 2012) http://www.beginnersguide.com/college/dorm-room-decor/dorm-room-essentials.php
  • College and Finance. "18 Overlooked Things Everyone Should Bring to College." (June 19, 2012) http://www.collegeandfinance.com/18-overlooked-things-everyone-should-bring-to-college/
  • College Bound. "Top 10 Dorm Room Must-Haves." (June 19, 2012) http://www.collegebound.net/content/article/top-10-dorm-room-must-haves/19691/
  • Consumer Search. "How to Buy a Mini Fridge." August 2011. (June 21, 2012) http://www.consumersearch.com/mini-fridges/how-to-buy-a-mini-fridge
  • Dorm Smart. "Dorm Storage Supplies Tip: Raising Your Dorm Bed + Storage Bins = Lots of Dorm Storage Space; A Great Underbed Solution For Organizing A Small Dorm Room." (June 21, 2012) http://www.dormsmart.com/Storage-Organization-_c_1189.html
  • Grannis, Kathy. "Back-to-School Sales Expected To Be Flat As Parents Practice Restraint, According To NRF." July 21, 2011. (June 19, 2012) http://www.nrf.com/modules.php?name=News&op=viewlive&sp_id=1157
  • PR Newswire. "Is There A Mouse In My ... Dorm Room? d-CON(R) Offers Tips for a Mouse-Free Semester." (June 20, 2012) http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/is-there-a-mouse-in-my--dorm-room-d-conr-offers-tips-for-a-mouse-free-semester-76721862.html
  • Rosenfeld, Laura. "The Ultimate Dorm Accessories Guide!" Seventeen. (June 19, 2012) http://www.seventeen.com/college/dorm-accessories#slide-1
  • Student Advisor. "10 Best Dorm Room Products." Oct. 14, 2010. (June 19, 2012) http://blog.studentadvisor.com/StudentAdvisor-Blog/bid/46649/10-Best-Dorm-Room-Products
  • Switched. "10 Must-Have Dorm Room Gadgets." Aug. 10, 2007. (June 19, 2012) http://www.switched.com/2007/08/10/10-must-have-dorm-room-gadgets/
  • Szewcow, Gabriela. "The Top 10 Things No One Told You to Bring to College." Her Campus. Aug. 11, 2011. (June 19, 2012) http://www.hercampus.com/dormlife/top-10-things-no-one-told-you-bring-college
  • The Container Store. "The Dorm Room Basic Six." (June 21, 2012) http://www.containerstore.com/tip/college/basicsix
  • The Dormitory. "What to Bring to College." (June 21, 2012) http://www.thedormitoryonline.com/WhattoBringtoCollege.html
  • Wal-Mart. (June 21, 2012) http://www.walmart.com/search/search-ng.do?search_query=dorm+room+size+refrigerator
  • Xatal. "108 College dorm necessities to have on your checklist." Aug. 11, 2008. (June 19, 2012) http://xatal.com/life/108-college-dorm-necessities-to-have-on-your-checklist/
  • Xatal. "Why you should wear flip-flops in college dorm showers." Oct. 29, 2008. (June 21, 2012) http://xatal.com/college/why-you-should-wear-flip-flops-in-college-dorm-showers/

More to Explore