10 Ways to Create a Modern Kitchen


1
Put in a Skylight

Your mother may have had a nice window in her kitchen, but you can do her one better by installing a skylight in yours. The natural light will make cooking so much more interesting. You'll be able to really see the dried and canned ingredients you're using in your recipes. It'll be an eye opener. You'll also have the benefit of a little slice of nature without the view of a weedy garden and a deck that desperately needs restaining -- just fluffy clouds and blue sky.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Best Buy. "Refrigerator Buying Guide." Undated. (4/4/11).http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?guideID=1043363100075&type=page&id=cat12077
  • Boraks, David. "Hot New Trends In Kitchen D├ęcor." Real Estate & Home. 2/28/11. (4/4/11).http://davidsonnews.net/realestate/2011/02/28/hot-new-trends-in-kitchen-decor/
  • Cnet Reviews. "Refrigerator Buying Guide. 12/8/09. (4/4/11).http://reviews.cnet.com/refrigerator-buying-guide/
  • Consumer Reports. "Refrigerators - Buying Guide." Undated. (4/4/11).http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/appliances/kitchen-appliances/refrigerators/refrigerator-buying-advice/refrigerator-types/refrigerator-types.htm
  • Coolest Gadgets. "TV and Fridge Combo." Undated. (4/4/11).http://www.coolest-gadgets.com/20050823/tv-and-fridge-combo/
  • Davis, Sid. "Home Makeovers That Sell." AMACOM. 2007.
  • Glink, Ilyce. "11 Kitchen and Bath Trends for 2011." Money Watch. 3/14/11. (4/4/11).http://moneywatch.bnet.com/saving-money/blog/home-equity/11-kitchen-and-bath-trends-for-2011/3750/?tag=content;col1
  • Home Design References. "Tips to Make a Modern Kitchen." 4/2/11. (4/4/11).http://homedesignreferences.info/2011/04/02/tricks-to-make-a-modern-kitchen/
  • Lecky, Amanda. "Kitchen Design Trends for 2011." 4/5/11. (4/4/11).http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/home/style/kitchen-design-trends-2011
  • Linsley, Leslie. "First Home." Nantucket Book Press. 1998.
  • True Frame. "Greenhouse Windows." Undated. (4/4/11).http://www.greenhousewindows.com/
  • Urban Home Magazine. "The Latest Trends in Kitchen Design." WSOCTV.com. Undated. (4/4/11).http://www.wsoctv.com/houseandhome/5597650/detail.html
  • White, Sarah. "Greenhouse Window." Undated. (4/4/11).http://garden.lovetoknow.com/wiki/Greenhouse_Window

UP NEXT

DIY Backsplash: How to Update Your Kitchen in a Flash

DIY Backsplash: How to Update Your Kitchen in a Flash

Looking for a way to update your kitchen in a flash? Read our article DIY Backsplash: How to Update Your Kitchen in a Flash now!


More to Explore