The 5 Most Expensive Toilets Ever (and How to Keep Them Clean)


1
The International Space Station Toilet

Space can be an unfriendly place when you need to use the facilities. That's why the most expensive toilet ever made is out of this world -- literally. It's outfitted with leg restraints to keep the astronauts seated during bathroom breaks, so it's a serious piece of equipment. Clearly, going to the bathroom isn't a simple dump and flush operation in space. Liquid waste is recycled in a three-step process and reused. Solid waste isn't recycled. (We're breathing a sigh of relief here).

In 2007, NASA purchased the toilet from the Russians for use in the American section of the station. It was considered a bargain at the time. A similar toilet was already in use on the Russian side, and designing one from scratch would have cost NASA even more than the staggering $19,000,000 price tag.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Apartment Therapy. "How to Clean Your Toilet." 1/19/11. (6/5/12). http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/how-to-really-clean-your-toile-137156
  • Born Rich. "$75,000 Swarovski-Studded Toilet." 11/29/07. (6/5/12). http://www.bornrich.com/entry/75000-swarovski-studded-toilet/
  • Cheung, Humphrey. "NASA buys space toilet for $19 million." 7/6/07. (6/5/12). http://www.tgdaily.com/trendwatch-features/32793-nasa-buys-space-toilet-for-19-million
  • Herbeau. "Dagobert Wooden Toilet Throne." (6/5/12). http://www.herbeau.com/Products.aspx?Item=5501
  • Huang, Fan. Shanghai List. "Gold toilet worth 1.28 million RMB on display in Hainan." 11/23/11. (6/5/12). http://shanghaiist.com/2011/11/23/128_million_rmb_toilet.php
  • Kohler. "The Bold Look of Kohler - Numi." (6/5/12). http://kohler.com/numi/#features.html
  • Lindner, Melanie "The Most Outrageously Priced Items." Forbes. 2/8/08. (6/5/12). http://www.forbes.com/2008/02/08/pricing-marketing-luxury-ent-cx_ml_0208pricing.html
  • Luxury Launches. "A Swarovski studded toilet worth $128,000 shows up in Japan." 12/13/11. (6/5/12). http://www.luxurylaunches.com/fittings/a_swarovski_studded_toilet_worth_128000_shows_up_in_japan.php
  • Most Expensive. "World's Most Expensive Toilets." 10/25/10. (6/5/12). http://most-expensive.net/toilets
  • Six Star Living. "Top 5 Most Luxurious Toilets." 7/4/11. (6/5/12). http://6starliving.com/top-5-most-luxurious-toilets/
  • Sunseri , Gina. "Testy Toilet on Space Station." ABC News. 7/19/09. (6/5/12). http://abcnews.go.com/Technology/story?id=8122374&page=1#.T9NnarWqaqw
  • Travel Channel. "Shanghai's Bathroom Cave." (6/5/12). http://www.travelchannel.com/video/shanghais-bathroom-cave
  • The Crimson. "Fifteen Minutes' Minutes." 11/20/03. (6/5/12). http://www.thecrimson.com/article/2003/11/20/fifteen-minutes-minutes-on-tuesday-in/
  • Thornhill, Ted. "Royal flush: The £3,900 toilet that's fit for a king." 4/16/11. (6/5/12). http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1377554/Royal-flush-The-3-900-Kohler-Numi-toilet-thats-fit-king.html
  • Turner, Sadao. "Ryan's Friend Gives Him Luxury Automatic Toilet for Birthday." 1/6/11. (6/5/12). http://ryanseacrest.com/2011/01/06/ryans-friend-gives-him-luxury-automatic-toilet-for-birthday-audio/
  • Web Urbanist. "World's Most Expensive Toilets and Washrooms." (6/5/12). http://weburbanist.com/2008/12/26/expensive-toilets/

UP NEXT

How Often Should You Wash Your Coffee Cup?

How Often Should You Wash Your Coffee Cup?

HowStuffWorks finds out how often you should wash your coffee cup or mug to avoid germs.


More to Explore