Prev Next  

Advertisement

How to Install a Fireplace Mantel

Lots More Information

Related HowStuffWorks Articles

Sources

  • Ace Hardware. "Fireplace Mantels." (Accessed 2/27/09). http://www.acehardwareandhearth.com/fireplace-mantels.asp
  • Appalachian Mantel Company. "Mantel Shelf Installation Instructions." (Accessed 2/27/09). http://www.netease.net/amc/shelfinstallation.htm
  • Better Homes and Gardens TV. "Message Boards." 11/15/08. (Accessed 2/1/09). http://boards.hgtv.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/4774011632/m/9621073783
  • BHG. "Wall Installation & How-To." (Accessed 2/27/09). http://www.bhg.com/home-improvement/walls/installation-how-to/
  • Bloom, Lary. "Lessons from the Founding Fireplaces." 2/10/08. ( Accessed 2/27/09). http://www.nytimes.com/2008/02/10/nyregion/nyregionspecial2/10colct.html
  • Cleveland, Todd. "A Heated (Fireplace) Discussion: Pre-Designed vs. Designed-on-Site." Masonry Magazine. (Accessed 3/1/09). http://www.masonrymagazine.com/6-03/fireplace2.html
  • DIY Network. "Fireplace Mantel Installation." (Accessed 2/28/09). http://www.diynetwork.com/diy/hi_fireplace/article/0,,diy_13914_2269267,00.html
  • DIY Network. "Pre-cast Stone Fireplace Instructions." (Accessed 3/1/09). http://www.diynetwork.com/diy/home_improvement/article/0,2037,DIY_13954_2276182,00.html
  • DIY Network. "Upgrading a Family Room: Installing Fireplace Mantel and Fireplace Doors." (Accessed 2/27/09). http://www.diynetwork.com/diy/hi_family_room/article/0,,DIY_13912_2277018,00.html
  • Fireplaces Magazine. "Fireplace Mantel Styles." (Accessed 2/28/09). http://www.fireplacesmagazine.com/mantles/mantle-styles.html
  • Fireplaces Magazine. "Fireplace Mantels." (Accessed 2/27/09). http://www.fireplacesmagazine.com/mantles.html
  • Garskof, Josh. "Installing a New Mantel." This Old House. (Accessed 3/10/09) http://www.thisoldhouse.com/toh/article/0,,555860,00.html
  • Gitlin, Jane. "Fireplace Design a Practical Guide to Fireplaces and Stoves Indoors and Out." p. 76; p. 88. The Taunton Press. 2006. (Accessed 2/27/09).
  • HGTV. "How to Build an Extended Fireplace Mantel.' (Accessed 2/27/09). http://www.hgtv.com/home-improvement/extended-fireplace-mantel/index.html
  • Insurance Information Institute, the. "Is your home prepared for a visit from Old Man Winter?" 10/23/02. (Accessed 2/27/09). http://www.iii.org/media/updates/external/archive/press.647680/?printerfriendly=yes
  • MantelsDirect. "Marble Mantel Surround." (Accessed 2/27/09). http://www.mantelsdirect.com/install/marble_mantel.html;jsessionid=0a0106431f4356f00ff0fa2b453b9f49e2c2995d340e.e3eSc3eMbxuPe34Pa38Ta38Qbxb0
  • Ryan, Paul. "Precast Stone Fireplace: Adding the Mantel and the Hearth." DIY Network. (Accessed 3/1/09). http://www.diynetwork.com/diy/hi_fireplace/article/0,,DIY_13914_2276195,00.htm
  • Sawyers, Harry. "How to Install a Mantel." This Old House. (Accessed 2/27/09). http://www.thisoldhouse.com/toh/how-to/intro/0,,1575966,00.html
  • Tripp, Kaelin. "Mantel Makeovers: 1 mantel, 4 ways." Better Homes and Gardens. (Accessed 2/27/09). http://www.bhg.com/decorating/home-accessories/mantels/mantel-makeovers-1-mantel-4-ways/
  • Weaver, Gerald. "Fireplace Designs." Pp.37. Betterway Books1993. (Accessed 2/27/09).
  • WoodWeb. "Scribing Wood Mantels to Stone or Brick." 02/08/08. (Accessed 3/01/09). http://www.woodweb.com/knowledge_base/Scribing_Wood_Mantels_to_Stone_or_Brick.html

Advertisement


Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement


Advertisement


Recommended

Advertisement

Advertisement