10 Stones to Use in Your Hardscape


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

What time of day should you water your plants?

What time of day should you water your plants?

Using less water on gardening doesn't have to mean less of a garden. Learn how to save 30 percent of your gardening water just by watering at the right time of day in this article.


Related HowStuffWorks Articles

Sources

  • American Institute of Architects, The. "Housing Downturn and Growing Interest in Containing Energy Costs Result in Smaller Home Size and Volumes, Strong Preferences for Outdoor Living Options and Accessibility." June 29, 2009. (Dec. 4, 2009) http://www.ala.org/press/AIAB080345
  • ASTM International. "About ASTM International." (Dec. 10, 2009) http://www.astm.org/ABOUT/aboutASTM.html
  • Beuchel Stone. "Frequently Asked Questions." (Dec. 8, 2009) http://www.buechelstone.com/homeowner/faq.asp#4
  • Bradley-Hole, Kathryn. Stone, Rock and Gravel. Cassell & Co., 2000.
  • Davitt, Keith. Hardscaping: how to use structures, pathways, patios & ornaments for your garden. Sterling Publishing Co., 2006.
  • First, Larry. President of Lang Stone Company. Personal Interview. Dec. 4, 2009.
  • Flynn Stone Products & Fabrication. "Products." (Dec. 9, 2009) http://www.flynnstonerocks.com/products/
  • Geo. Schofield Co. Inc. "Decorative Gravel." (Dec. 7, 2009) http://www.geoschofield.com/decorative_gravel.htm
  • Harding, R. R., R. F. Symes and Paul Taylor. Rocks, Fossils & Gems. DK Publishing, Inc., 1997.
  • Hawk Brothers Mason & Patio Supplies. "Stone benches." (Dec. 9, 2009) http://www.hawkbros.com/benches.php
  • Hill, John. Indiana Geological Survey. "Indiana Limestone." http://igs.indiana.edu/geology/minres/indianalimestone/index.cfm
  • Irwin Stone. "Irwin Stone Blog: Freestanding Outdoor Fireplaces." Aug. 1, 2009. (Dec. 8, 2009) http://www.irwinstone.com/79-freestanding-outdoor-fireplaces
  • Lambert, David and the Diagram Group. The Field Guide to Geology. Diagram Visual Information, Ltd., 1988.
  • Lang Stone Company. "Landscape Boulders & Slabs." (Dec. 9, 2009) http://www.langstone.com/lbs_main.htm
  • Lawrence, Mike. Step-by-Step Outdoor Stonework. Storey Communications, 1995.
  • Missouri Limestone Producers Association. "About Limestone." (Dec. 6, 2009) http://www.molimestone.com/index/php?page=info/main
  • Nevada Legislature. "Nevada Facts." (Dec. 7, 2009) http://www.leg.state.nz.us/general/FACTS.cfm
  • Pacific Stonescape. "Flagstone." (Dec. 9, 2009) http://www.pacificstonescape.com/home/pse/smartlist_7/flagstone.html
  • Pough, Frederick. Rocks and Minerals. Houghton Mifflin Company, 1996.
  • Powell, Darryl. Mineral Information Institute. "Quartzite." (Dec. 6, 2009) http://www.mii.org/Minerals/photoquartzite.html
  • Public Broadcasting System. Building Big. "Skyscraper: Empire State Building." (Dec. 7, 2009) http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/buildingbig/wonder/structure/empire_state.html
  • Pulver, Liz. Landscape architect licensed in New York and California. Personal correspondence. Dec. 6, 2009.
  • Rist, Curtis, Vicky Webster and the Editors of Sunset Books. Pools and Spas. Sunset Publishing, 2008.
  • Roehrig, Peter. General Manager at Valders Stone & Marble, Inc. Personal correspondence. December 12, 2009.
  • Stone Network, The. "Limestone Colors." (Dec. 7, 2009) http://stone-network.com/slab_images/thumbnails.php?album=7&page=2
  • Stoneyard.com. "Products." (Dec. 8, 2009) http://www.stoneyard.com/products/
  • Walks, Walls & Patios. Creative Homeowner, 2004.

More to Explore