10 Unexpected Garden Decorations

Lots More Information

What time of day should you water your plants?

Using less water on gardening doesn't have to mean less of a garden. Learn how to save 30 percent of your gardening water just by watering at the right time of day in this article.

Related How Stuff Works Articles

More Great Links


  • Adams County Travel. "Clothesline Quilts." Undated. 11/30/2008. http://www.adamscountytravel.org/quiltbarns.html
  • As the Garden Grows. "Odd Garden Décor." 3/7/2007. 11/25/2008.http://feverishthoughts.com/garden/2007/03/07/odd-garden-decor/
  • BBC. "Gnome Expense Spared." 12/1/1997.11/29/2008. http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/36143.stm
  • Baskett, Mickey. "Decorating Your Garden." Sterling Publishing. 1998.
  • Bix, Cynthia." Ideas for Great Garden Décor." Sunset Publishing. 2000.
  • Florida Gardener. "Feng Shui in the Florida Garden." 6/3/2008. 11/24/2008. http://floridagardener.com/misc/fengshui.htm
  • Gnome Frenzy. "History of Garden Gnomes." Undated. 11/3/2008. http://www.gnomefrenzy.com/history-of-garden-gnomes.html
  • Harris, Pamela Cole. "Creating Outdoor Rooms From Scratch on a Budget." 2007.11/17/2008. http://www.homeandgardenmakeover.com/outdoor-room.html
  • Iowa State University. " Barn Quilts Give a Shot in the Arm to Agritourism through Art, History and Nostalgia." 12/14/2007. 11/28/2008. http://www.extension.iastate.edu/news/2007/dec/091401.htm
  • Karr, Laura Jean. "Green Christmas Low Energy Lights." 10/23/2008. 11/26/2008. http://www.brighthub.com/environment/green-living/articles/12296.aspx
  • McCauley, Gail. "Decking Out Your Outdoor Areas." Undated. 11/17/2008. http://www.homeandgardenmakeover.com/deckingout.html
  • Modra, Ronald C. and M. B. Roberts. "Garish Gardens, Outlandish Lawns." Willow Creek Press. 1998.
  • Planetary Society. "How to Read a Sundial." Undated. 11/29/2008. http://www.planetary.org/programs/projects/earthdial/how_to_read.html
  • Rushing, Felder. "Tacky or Gaudy, a Look at Garden Art." Undated. 11/25/2008. http://www.learn2grow.com/inspirations/gardenart/types/tackyorgaudy.aspx?page=1
  • Sblom. "Sam's Mailbox Picture Collection." Undated. 11/27/2008.http://sblom.com/mailbox/
  • Sustainable Horticulture - University of New Hampshire. "Garden People or Deck Planters." 2008. 11/26/2008. http://horticulture.unh.edu/ggg/gardenThemes/gardenPeopleOrDeckPlanters.html
  • Sustainable Horticulture - University of New Hampshire. "How to Make a Flowerbed (a bed in your flowerbed)." 2008. 11/26/2008. http://horticulture.unh.edu/ggg/gardenThemes/flowerBeds.html
  • Sustainable Horticulture - University of New Hampshire. "Make Your Own Scarecrow." 2008. 11/26/2008.http://horticulture.unh.edu/ggg/artsAndCrafts/makingScarecrows.html
  • The Kitchen Sink. "Spooky Economy Not Scaring Halloween Spenders." 10/6/2008.11/29/2008. http://thekitchenthink.typepad.com/wiseideas/2008/10/spooky-economy.html
  • Thinking Fountain. "Make a Pop Bottle Whirligig." 1997. 11/26/2008. http://www.thinkingfountain.org/p/popbottlewhirligig/popbottlewhirligig.html
  • Under the Gargoyle, "The Natural and Unnatural History of Gargoyles." Undated. 11/27/2008. http://www.underthegargoyle.com/nathist.html
  • YouTube. "Water Feature in Fukuoka, Japan." Undated. 11/24/2008.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0HeUixe_Lpg

More to Explore