10 Advantages of Manufactured Homes


1
Warranty

When you bought your last home and something went wrong, how difficult was it to get the contractor to come and fix it? Chances are it was a hassle, and the work wasn't done in time. Manufactured homes generally come with a one-year warranty for construction and separate warranties for windows, doors, siding, faucets, appliances -- you name it. Most will even provide their customers with extended warranties.

While all new homes will have a warranty, used homes might not. Ask some of these important questions before signing off on the house:

  • How long does the warranty last?
  • What does the warranty cover?
  • What voids the warranty?
  • Does the retailer, builder or installer perform the warranty work, or is it split between all parties?
  • Does the warranty become void if the installation site is not properly prepared? [source: Consumer Union]

However, buyer beware: The key is to make sure you have a copy of the complete warranty and not a summary document. And be sure to keep the warranty up to date if it requires renewing.

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • Collins, Paul. "Mobile home park turnaround hoped." Martinsville Bulletin. Feb. 28, 2011. (March, 2011).http://www.martinsvillebulletin.com/article.cfm?ID=27530
  • Consumers Union. "Consumers Union's Manufactured Home Warranty Tips." (March, 2011).http://www.consumersunion.org/other/mh/wtips.htm
  • Gorman, Jim. "Eco-Friendly Modular Home." Country Living. (March, 2011).http://www.countryliving.com/homes/house-tours/green-piece-1008
  • Howley, Kathleen M. "Buffett Says Buying Home was Third-Best Investment he Made." Bloomberg Businessweek. March, 3, 2011. (March, 2011).http://www.businessweek.com/news/2011-02-28/buffett-says-buying-home-was-third-best-investment-he-made.html
  • Lawrence, Robyn Griggs. "Green Buildings: Affordable, Eco-friendly Modular Homes." Mother Earth News. October/November, 2009. (March, 2011).http://www.motherearthnews.com/Green-Homes/Green-Modular-Homes.aspx
  • ManufacturedHousing.org. "Today's Manufactured Housing." (March, 2011).http://www.manufacturedhousing.org/understanding_today/cost_size.htm
  • ManufacturedHousing.org. "Who Lives in Manufactured Housing?" (March, 2011).http://www.manufacturedhousing.org/understanding_today/graph.htm
  • Modular Center. "Modular Homes." (March, 2011).http://www.modularcenter.com/modularfaq/
  • Nationwide Homes. "Modular Home Construction Features." (March, 2011).http://www.nationwide-homes.com/main.cfm?pagename=modular
  • Swider, Paul. "Modular homes: What's not to like?" St. Petersburg Times. Jan. 21, 2007. (March, 2010).http://www.sptimes.com/2007/01/21/Neighborhoodtimes/Modular_homes__What_s.shtml
  • The Manufactured Housing Association of Oklahoma. "Myth vs. Realty." (March, 2011).http://www.mhao.org/myths.asp
  • U.S. Census Bureau. "Average Sales Price of New Manufactured Homes by Region and Size of Home." (March, 2011).http://www.census.gov/const/mhs/mhstabavgsls.pdf
  • U.S. Census Bureau. "Median and Average Sales Prices of New Homes Sold in the United States." (March, 2011).http://www.census.gov/const/uspriceann.pdf
  • U.S. Department of Energy. "Manufactured Home Comparison." (March, 2011).http://www.baihp.org/data/NCATU/index.htm

UP NEXT

Does Traditional Homeowners Insurance Cover Airbnb Rentals?

Does Traditional Homeowners Insurance Cover Airbnb Rentals?

Most homeowners insurance won't cover your home if you're renting it via sites like Airbnb. HowStuffWorks looks at insurance policies that will.


More to Explore