10 Things First-time Homebuyers Want, but Don't Need

Lots More Information


10 Things to Consider Before Buying Your First Home

10 Things to Consider Before Buying Your First Home

Your dream home is within reach. Now it's just a matter of finding and buying it. Here's a handy list of home-buying tips at HowStuffWorks.

Related HowStuffWorks Articles


  • Cortez, Nef. "5 Important Features to Consider When Buying a Home." Undated. 3/2/10.http://secure.sg.streetdirectory.com/travel_guide/72775/property_tips/5_important_features_to_consider_when_buying_a_home.html
  • DeZube, Dona. "Top 10 Updates." HGTV. 2/2/09. 3/2/10.http://www.frontdoor.com/Home-Finance/Top-10-Home-Updates/54706
  • Fogazzo. "Outdoor Kitchens." Undated. 3/4/10.http://www.fogazzo.com/html/outdoor_kitchens.html
  • Home Additions Plus. "Attic Conversion." Undated. 3/3/10.http://www.homeadditionplus.com/attic_info/attic-insulation-fan-stair-main.htm
  • Kids Health. "How TV Affects Your Child." Undated. 3/3/10.http://kidshealth.org/parent/positive/family/tv_affects_child.html
  • MGS Services. "Buy a Refrigerator With Confidence." Undated. 3/2/10.http://www.mgservices.ca/newsletter_buying_a_refrigerator_with_confidence.htm
  • Mullins, Luke. "10 Things to Know About Real Estate in 2010." U.S. News & World Report. 12/21/09. 3/3/10.http://www.usnews.com/money/articles/2009/12/21/10-things-to-know-about-real-estate-in-2010.html
  • Mullins, Luke."The 5 Best-and 5 Worst-Home Improvement Projects for Your Money." U.S. News & World Report. 1/27/10. 3/2/10.http://www.usnews.com/money/personal-finance/articles/2010/01/27/the-5-bestand-5-worsthome-improvement-projects-for-your-money.html
  • Nielson Wire. "Americans Watching More TV Than Ever; Web and Mobile Video Up Too." 5/20/09. 3/4/10.http://blog.nielsen.com/nielsenwire/online_mobile/americans-watching-more-tv-than-ever/
  • Pool Safety. "Swimming Pool and Spa Safety Starts with You!" Undated. 3/4/10.http://www.poolsafety.gov/
  • Progress Energy. "Fireplaces." Undated. 3/2/10.http://progress-energy.com/aboutenergy/learningctr/savingtips/fireplaces.asp#b0
  • Real Estate Investment Brain. "Top Rated New Home Features Most Buyers Want." 2/10/10. 3/2/10.http://www.thereibrain.com/top-rated-new-home-features-most-buyers-want/941/
  • Stanton Homes. "Top 9 Home Features in '09." 2009. 3/3/10.http://www.stantonhomes.com/Docs/Top_9_New_Home_Features_In_2009.pdf

More to Explore