From Garden to Table: Recipes from Your Backyard


Flowers

Many of the same flowers that add those much-loved pops of color to your garden can add taste and color to your plate, too. Edible flowers include carnations, geraniums, daylilies, sunflowers, roses, and marigolds, and these (plus many others) are surprisingly delicious when fried, added to salads, or used to flavor ice cream. But before you dig in, make sure the blooms you are eating aren’t poisonous.

Try them in: Dandelion Quiche; Flower Honey; Rose Petal Ice Cream; Batter-Dipped and Fried Flowers.

More Great Links

Sources

  • “Easy Vegetarian Recipes.” TreeHugger. (June 20, 2013) http://www.treehugger.com/easy-vegetarian-recipes/
  • “66 Favorite Herb Recipes.” Martha Stewart. (June 20, 2013) http://www.marthastewart.com/274306/favorite-herb-recipes/@center/276995/marthas-culinary-herb-garden#275149/314545
  • “Herb-Marinated Pork Tenderloins.” Food Network. (June 20, 2013) http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/herb-marinated-pork-tenderloins-recipe/index.html
  • “Fresh herbs make sweet and sophisticated ice cream.” Oregon Live. (June 20, 2013) http://www.oregonlive.com/foodday/index.ssf/2008/06/recipe_detail.html?id=7484
  • “Growing tomatoes.” How Stuff Works. (June 20, 2013) https://home.howstuffworks.com/tomatoes1.htm
  • “Cooking.” TLC. (June 20, 2013) https://recipes.howstuffworks.com/
  • “Zucchini Bread.” Smitten Kitchen. (June 20, 2013) http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2007/07/summer-of-the-bats/
  • “We’re Eating Flowers.” Frugal Mama. (June 20, 2013) http://www.frugal-mama.com/2012/07/were-eating-flowers-that-are-pretty-and-delicious-our-3-favorite-recipes-by-virginia-suardi-8-years-old/
  • “42 Flowers You Can Eat.” TreeHugger. (June 20, 2013) http://www.treehugger.com/green-food/42-flowers-you-can-eat.html

More to Explore