Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

Do you need to contact your homeowners association when selling your house?


Paying Your Association to Move

Unfortunately, your HOA is able to charge you a fee for transferring paperwork from your name into the name of the new homeowner. Some HOAs charge a flat fee for this service. In Texas, for example, flat fees can cost as much as $275 [source: Mulholland]. Other associations charge a percentage of the sale price of the home, and often this will be anywhere from .5 to 1 percent. This is somewhat more controversial, because a flat fee charges every homeowner the same rate for moving, whereas charging a percentage of a home sale fluctuates based on market health and on the value of the property.

Some associations charge both types of fees. In Texas, again, a handful of associations charge a flat fee plus a percentage of the home sale. They'll usually distinguish between the two types of charges by calling the flat rate a "transfer fee" and the percentage an "enhancement" or "foundation" fee [source: Mulholland]. It is important to check with your association to learn whether it will charge a transfer fee, enhancement fee, neither or both. But before you can even sell your home at all, your HOA dues must be paid off in full. If you owe late dues, fines or fees, you will have to pay them off and possibly pay the HOA's fee for hiring a collection agency to collect any other past-due bills you owe [source: Edwards].

Even if you don't have any outstanding HOA fees, you could incur costs if the association requires you obtain a home inspection report before you sell [source: Kinard]. Most HOAs will assign their architectural representative to inspect your home and ensure it is up to code. If the home passes, you can sell it and will probably want to give a copy of the inspection report to the new buyer. You should also retain a copy for your own records, either to show your home is in fact up to code, or to review any problems the inspector discovered. If some part of your home does not pass inspection, you will be required to fix that before you can sell your home. You might even have to pay the cost of repairs, plus a fine if the problem constitutes a violation [source: Kinard].


More to Explore